Skip to content

Getting Marginalized, one day at a time

March 3, 2012

Crazy as it sounds, there can be peace in having less. It narrows your focus, and gives you less to worry about. Keeping up with the Joneses? No problem, when you don’t even have the option of keeping up with their cat.

I spent part of my time yesterday closing a Money Market savings account, and converting to a “regular” savings account, to avoid having to pay $10/month for the privilege of getting exactly the same amount of interest paid on the balance. Win for me, no problem and efficiently done by my Credit Union.

One less of my few worries, sorted. Yay, me!

What’s your latest “lightening up” activity, and how did it make you feel?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 2:21 pm

    I’ve been “lightening up” for so many years now that it feels weird to actually have enough to live on (at least lately). That is a huge relief. So I’m somewhere in between right now. Not having to lighten up so much, but not trusting it enough to totally relax.

    Agree that having less isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It’s the “never having enough” syndrome that is so soul destroying.

    • March 6, 2012 3:48 pm

      I’ve been having the opposite — I *used* to have enough, or seemed to, now I see my bank account shrinking and know that I just haven’t got any way to make it grow anymore. Very frustrating!

      Glad to hear you’re making ends meet on your entrepreneurial journey! You go,, girl!

  2. March 6, 2012 4:01 pm

    As way of a PS — i have a new(ish) WordPress blog, on my battles with my budget, called Frantically Frugal -> just over in the blogroll, if you’d like to check it out… :)

Leave a Reply

