Skip to content

Hi ho, Hi ho, it’s off to work I go…

December 8, 2010

in a couple of months anyway. I’ve just gulped and plunked down the cash for a new computer. It’s a Toshiba Satellite (thanks, Shawn, for the reccy!) and fully capable of the tasks to be put to it. Now, after three days, I’m starting to look at what else the new beast will need…full MS Office, Photoshop…?

I already know what other hardware I’ll need, and I’m hoping to get most of it secondhand (to be replaced as I start to earn some dosh). Light table, at least one external hard drive and possibly two, a printer/copier, a scanner…lots of stuff for a biz I think will be useful and attractive to people — archiving family histories from photos and documents. More later as I hash it all out. Wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 2:20 am

    So how is it working out?

    I use Open Office and Picasa … they’re free!

    • June 14, 2011 11:07 am

      OMG, I found a flaw with my business plan — no one wants to actually let you have their photos to scan, and it’s not feasible to scan them at their house. Takes a long time, and I’m using some borrowed equipment. It’s not a dead plan, but I’m rethinking…however, my new beast is very Shiny! It doesn’t crash every third login, always a plus in my opinion. :)

      Meanwhile, I’m trying to convert a syllabus I made, for a class on financial retrenching for seniors, students and the unemployed, into a Kindle Single. Do you know about CreateSpace on Amazon? You can use it for writing a Kindle ebook. My friend Tom has written several books over the years, and he’s checking it out currently. Will try to remember to post my progress.

      • June 14, 2011 11:18 am

        I find if one plan doesn’t work out it usually leads to another, or a variation at least. Having the new beast is a bonus anyhow.

        And yes, keep us posted!

        I know I’ve been terrible at keeping in touch, but when your comment popped up in my email… well, here I am. :)

        I’ve got so many plans on the go right now it’s making my head spin. But it’s mostly lots of fun and – who knows – I may yet end up with something resembling an income.

        Suerte!

Leave a Reply

