Skip to content

Change as change.

June 11, 2008
tags:

Things change, and sometimes they change in directions you could never foresee.

 

In the past year I’ve gone from a resident of the Los Angeles area — on disability, then on unemployment, then employed (for all of three weeks!) to no income at all, to giving/throwing away 37 years of stuff including the many books from my life as well as my late husband’s (I’m down to 8 boxes of stuff and two very confused cats) — to moving 450 miles north to the San Francisco Bay Area, still unemployed, on to general assistance, and back to employed again (for three weeks…).

 

Brings new meaning to the phrase, “The more things change, the more they stay the same.” I’m considering writing a book, “Feng Shui for the Transitional.”

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 1:23 pm

    Yeah, like whatever happened to not being able to step into the same river twice?

    Need a snibble?

    *snibble*

  2. spacecadette permalink
    July 10, 2008 2:19 pm

    Thanks for the snibble, az!

    The way things have been going, you should write a book, “Snibbles for the Soul”!

    I’ve been asking around to see what you might do for your dietary concerns. My cousin just finished a year long bout of chemo for Non-Hodgkins Lyphoma, different disease, probably the same nausea…

    Bless us, every one, as Tiny Tim would say…

  3. spacecadette permalink
    July 10, 2008 2:23 pm

    Something else; I got a startle yesterday.

    I was talking with one of my social workers, when she asked me if I was “still homeless”. Well, shit, when you put it like that… :-/ Somehow, hadn’t been calling myself *that* yet! Although, gotta say, the waiting room for that interview was filled with some VERY dubious characters!

  4. July 11, 2008 11:34 pm

    No, not “technically” homeless at any rate, though I know you’d love to have your own home again.

    At least being down to 8 boxes makes you more mobile than before. Not a bad way to be at our time of life.

  5. July 15, 2008 6:58 pm

    After 14 years of covering, among other things, social services, I’ve developed a real ambivalence about social workers

  6. July 15, 2008 10:32 pm

    FFE, I’ll have to read your blog more — the whole social net system in the US is beyond rationality.

    Just when I think my situation is bad, I hear that the county just North of this one (not naming names but it’s initials are Alameda) is telling general assistance folks that *are* homeless, that starting soon, they have 6 months to find work, or their benefits will be cut off.

    Oh yeah, about those benefits? $40 a month…just how in the hell does someone break the cycle and find work, when they can’t even afford a motel room for more than a night? How do they keep clean enough to get work? How do…the mind fucking boggles!

    I am so blessed, I guess.

Leave a Reply

